Beet Ravioli

beets,beans_1359

This beet ravioli is brilliant! When I came across this recipe, the photo was stunning with the vividness

of the beets and it is a stroke of genius!

Within many cultures, the idea of a stuffed dumpling is varied. In the asian culture, we have

dumplings that are steamed or pan fried. In the Italian culture, there are cheese or meat filled raviolis.

In the Hungarian culture, there are cabbage rolls. The list goes on and on.

I love the taste of beets. Years ago, I tried to grow my own crop of beets with the greens attached. To

my dismay, a rabbit ate all of my beet greens and my beets were not thriving.  Nowadays, I purchase

my beets from my grocery store.  I like to roast my beets with a hint of garlic and olive oil mainly.This

delectable gluten free, vegan and paleo beet ravioli is divine. The essence of the beets is nutty and

sweet. The topping is cashews, garlic and basil which is subtle and an excellent partner for the beets.

beets,beans_1360

Recipe:

2 small beets, peeled

1/2 c cashews, soaked in water

1/8 c water

1 T lemon juice

1 clove garlic

1/3 c basil

Instructions:

1. Slice the beets thin. Boil them in a pot for 5 minutes. Drain.

2. Puree the cashews,juice,water, garlic and basil.

3.Place a beet on a plate. Spoon some of the puree on the top.

4. Place another beet to match the size of the beet.

5. Top with basil, tomato, pesto or any other.

Serves 1.

Adapted from andcece.

6 thoughts on “Beet Ravioli

Leave a Reply

